Author Topic: no pressure MyPaint-1.0, XP, Wacom Bamboo CTL-470/K  (Read 15135 times)

Offline renejan

no pressure MyPaint-1.0, XP, Wacom Bamboo CTL-470/K
« on: December 01, 2011, 09:54:11 pm »
Hi, I don't seem to have 'pressure sensitivity' (input debug window confirms this). I am using MyPaint 1.0, Windows XP, Wacom bamboo CTL-470/K. I don't experience the same issue with Photoshop CS3 i.e. pressure sensitivity works ok for the same OS and input device.

I am fairly new to MyPaint, the input mode is set to 'screen', is there an enable switch for pressure sensitivity perhaps?

Any thoughts would be appreciated! Thanks!!

Offline flynsk

Re: no pressure MyPaint-1.0, XP, Wacom Bamboo CTL-470/K
« Reply #1 on: December 02, 2011, 05:22:27 pm »
Hmm. 1.0 has been updated since the initial relase, so be sure you have the latest version.
Though, in my experience, it was working in xp even before the update.

You could try going into control panel and clearing your prefererences. I'm not sure how it works in bamboo, but it helps in some programs with the intuos line. You might want to reboot. There's also the trick of clicking on the program with the stylus, not the mouse, if that's how you usually open the program. that makes a difference in some cases.

Good luck.

Offline maxy

« Reply #2 on: December 02, 2011, 07:25:43 pm »
No there is no additional "enable pressure" switch, except that the mode must be "screen" as you already got it. In addition, you may have to plug in your tablet before starting mypaint, not after. Also, it may help to upgrade the wacom driver.

Offline renejan

« Reply #3 on: December 02, 2011, 09:11:58 pm »
Thanks for the replies so far.

With regards to the latest 1.0 release, I downloaded the binary yesterday (Dec first 2011) so I assume that I have the latest.

I also downloaded the latest wacom drivers, so that should be covered.

I use the pen to start mypaint from the Windows' start menu

I did a reboot and that did not help unfortunately.